Governance structure

Linguistics in Open Access is a non-profit foundation based in the Netherlands, a so-called Stichting in compliance with Dutch law. LingOA is formally governed by its board members and the executive editors of participating journals. Stichting LingOA was founded in 2015.

The board members are Prof. dr. Johan Rooryck (President and Treasurer, Leiden University), Prof. dr. Marc van Oostendorp (Secretary, Radboud University, Nijmegen), prof. dr. Kees Hengeveld (University of Amsterdam), Prof. dr. Sónia Frota (University of Lisboa), prof. dr. George Walkden (Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Historical Syntax, University of Konstanz), and dr. Lauren B. Collister(Director of Scholarly Communication, University of Pittsburgh Library System).

LingOA is one of the ‘disciplineOAs’ that are part of Stichting Fair Open Access Alliance, see, together with MathOA ( and PsyOA (